Chick-Fil-A got Beef?

What’s up cruel world?  The Chick-fil-A controversy — starting with comments made against gay marriage by the company president — as the firm seeks to expand in Chicago and other cities — has quickly escalated into a national clash over values and the role of government.  The inventors of the chicken sandwich, Chick-Fil-A, now have beef with those who are for gay marriage.

What’s Beef?

The controversy began when Cathy elaborated on his “guilty as charged” comment in an interview on the Atlanta radio program, The Ken Coleman show.

“I think we are inviting God’s judgment on our nation when we shake our fist at Him and say, ‘We know better than you as to what constitutes a marriage.”

First the Jim Henson Co., which provided Muppets toys for Chick-Fil-A kids meals, pulled its toys and its partnership with the restaurant. Then the mayors of Boston and Chicago expressed opposition to new Chick-Fil-A outlets opening in their cities.  To anyone one familiar with the family-owned chicken chain, Cathy’s views should come as little surprise. All of the chain’s 1,600 restaurants nationwide are closed on Sundays, the Christian Sabbath, to allow employees to “worship if they choose to,” a decision that was “as much practical as spiritual” according to the company’s website.

Now if you *know* me, you know I LOVE Chick-Fil-A…like for the last few years I’ve gotten a Chick-Fil-A calendar (with coupons) for Christmas.  I’m talking that when people wanna get me something special, it’s either Hennessy or a Chick-Fil-A gift card.  I know what their website says about them being closed on Sundays, but I don’t believe them.  I believe they’re closed on Sundays so that God may deliver the lemonade without being seen!

So now the genius’ of our country, the people, are looking to boycott Chick-Fil-A.  You’re boycotting Chik-Fil-A? WOW so brave! Way to stick it to the man! Let me go get a cookie for you. But in all seriousness, attacking Chik-Fil-A for donating money to anti-gay activism is doing little more than asking for public approval for holding such progressive views. Do you know who else donates money to anti-gay groups? Urban Outfitters. Best Buy. Target. Exxon. Come on folks, Chik-fil-a has never made a secret of their religious affiliation or their social policy, but I’m glad their financial donations have provided fuel for your new-found liberal outrage. Then there’s this article about the plans to block Chik-Fil-A from building new restaurants. Let’s give that mayor a cookie for violating first amendment rights in the name of bleeding heart liberalism?

“Blocking construction of Chick-fil-a restaurants over Cathy’s views is a violation of Cathy’s First Amendment rights. Boston and Chicago have no more right to stop construction of Chick-fil-As based on an executive’s anti-gay views than New York City would have had the right to block construction of an Islamic community center blocks away from Ground Zero. The government blocking a business from opening based on the owner’s political views is a clear threat to everyone’s freedom of speech—being unpopular doesn’t mean you don’t have rights. It’s only by protecting the rights of those with whose views we find odius that we can hope to secure them for ourselves.”

Exactly. Chik-fil-a is only one of many institutions that believe homosexuality is morally wrong and it’s right up there with other major corporations, religious organizations, researchers, and academics. Creating a scape-goat out of the company distracts from larger goals.

In Chicago, Chick-fil-A wants to open a store in the 2500 block of North Elston, turf controlled by Ald. Joe Moreno (1st). In Chicago, an alderman has enormous power to block developments in a ward.  The dustup over Moreno’s opposition to a Chick-fil-A outlet in his ward has drawn a dose of national attention. The other night, he told CNN that it was mainly an “equal rights issue,” about the company being “non-discriminatory” and “responsible.” Moreno is leveraging his aldermanic clout to throw a spotlight on Chick-fil-A. He mustered no evidence that the Chick-fil-A discriminates in its treatment of employees or customers.  Moreno told CNN he was “confident” he would resolve his issues with Chick-fil-A.  He must know you can’t haul a bully pulpit to court.

I know some are wondering where the money actually goes that these corporations are pumping into anti-gay…right?  I initially thought it was going to fund secret gay spies who would purposely went into the gay communities and broke up happy homes.  But that’s not the case.  After research I found that the money actually only goes to those lobbying for ‘traditional marriage rights’, which really is both advertisements and just financial support (sometimes) of those who are ‘for’ your cause.  Basically it goes to political candidates that share their same beliefs.

So with all that said, what’s left to do?  Should those that boycott try to create some balance in the world?  Maybe they could donate some money to organizations that are for gay marriage?  Maybe start a day where they buy openly gay people gifts…Buy A Fag A Bag Day?  Wait, they don’t like the term “fag” so that wouldn’t work.  I dunno what to tell yall because you can’t tell a company what they can do with their money….but good luck with that boycott.

Are you thinking of boycotting Chick-fil-A?  Would you also boycott the other companies that donate money as well?  Is it a lifetime ban on the particular company?  Are you boycotting because everybody else is doing it or do you research those companies that do not believe in what you believe in and boycott them?  Do you find it ironic that a company like WalMart doesn’t sell rap music with guns and violence in the lyrics yet they sell guns and ammo?  That last question aint have nothing to do with anything just threw it in to see who reads.

 

 

 

Thanks for tuning in…

BROWNLEE

8 thoughts on “Chick-Fil-A got Beef?

  1. Well dont hold back Brownlee, tell us how you really feel. And by “us” I suppose I mean “me”. LOOK, I love chick-fil-a. What those people do with chicken is close to Godliness. But I prefer my chicken without any political or religious views. In my opinion, that bothers me most. I knew before this whole anti-gay marriage deal that chick-fil-a was a christian owned business. Personally, I liked the wholesome image they have. But, in my opinion, they crossed a line and were extremely offensive to a large group of people.
    I had a talk about ths with my mom yesterday about this and about whether or not people would really be able to boycott chick-fil-a, and I really cant say. There chicken is just so G*d damn good.

    • U know I love chicken…no boycott from me. Plus I don’t care about same sex marriages….most are gonna end just like opposite sex marriages, in DIVORCE!

      • Exactly. Which is why I think Chick-fil-a should just stfu and keep it moving. The world just ain’t what it was in 200 B.C or whenever the bible was created. I think they need to learn to pick their battles, someone from P.R shoulda been there to tell them “say no comment”. It just seems a little bit arrogant to me, am I the only one who gets that vibe?

  2. No boycotting here…I’ll just donate money to a gay rights group or go to the (gay) pride parade next year…but there’s no way in hell I’ll stop going to chick fil a…two weeks ago…I went twice. a couple days apart. that’s the best I can do. lol.

Leave a Reply

